All I want for Christmas is safe drinking water

Today I will join thousands of bloggers across the world in a global discussion of water and the issues it  faces.  The purpose of blog action day to get as many people as possible talking about this issue and bring it to attention.

There are 2 quick topics I would like to cover, one local and one global.

GLOBAL

I’m all for charities, but with my *limited* income I really can not support all the causes I would like to. What I challenge all of you to do is in lieu of a Christmas gift this year, consider shifting one of your gifts to a donation.

In honor of Blog action day I am suggesting charitywater.org as something to consider. I won’t go on too much about this, if you are interested in learning more please click on the link above. Charity: water directly funds sustainable water solutions in areas of greatest need. Did you know that 90% of the 42,000 deaths that occur every week from unsafe water and unhygienic living conditions are to children under five years old. Ahh I hate hearing things like this, it  really breaks your heart especially when you consider many of these diseases are preventable.  On their website charity:water states that “the UN predicts that one tenth of the global disease burden can be prevented simply by improving water supply and sanitation.”

I know most of us are counting our pennies these days, but please consider my challenge to shift 1 gift to a charitable donation this year!!

LOCAL

Although there have been a few free tap water tests happening in my community over the last few years, I was never able to make it to one or have my water tested. That’s why when I heard about the community groundwater monitoring network I was super pumped to sign up! Through this free program I will learn how my water is doing in respects to levels of Nitrates, Phosphorous and Coliform.  Stay tuned to find out how my results compare to other areas in the world!

 

Groundwater testing at BBEMA

 

 

The Bedeque Bay Environmental Management Association is who is putting on the groundwater program, if you live on PEI (yes on, not in) and haven’t checked them out before, check out thier website. They do all kinds of great stuff like this weekend they are hosting a build your own wind turbine workshop!

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Awesome post! Those statistics are stunning, aren’t they? Yay to your for participating and spreading awareness!

    Reply

  2. I definitely think that most people would be more active in conserving, choosing green etc. if they knew all the facts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

