What is a Big Green Purse? I’ll give you one! (review and giveaway)

Win a copy of BIG GREEN PURSE by DIANE MACEACHERN, just leave a comment. ( Open October 14-28 2010)

So the basis for me starting this blog was to write about my One in a Million Challenge (recently I’ve fallen a little behind on this, updates are coming…)

The One in a Million Challenge is an idea that Diane MacEachern came up where she encourages women to shift $1000 of their existing budget to environmentally friendly products.  Since women control 0.85 cents of every dollar spent, this adds up to a lot, like  ONE BILLION DOLLARS we’re talking.  That is enough money to make any manufacturer take a second look at their product and ask “how can I make this a better environmental choice?”.

Skeptical about the importance of buying eco-friendly products?

In her book, Big Green Purse, Diane explains why it’s important to choose the greener options. Diane touches on many subjects in the book, in fact pretty much anything related to living, from beauty products to cars to food.

In her chapter “CLEAN AND GREEN: CLEANSERS SCRUBS, POLISHES AND FRESHENERS”  she points out the health hazards we are facing today . For example 6.1 million kids in the U.S. have asthma, making asthma the #3 reason kids are hospitalized. She points out pretty clear links between what you use in your house on a daily basis with these risks. She then goes on to explain how to make simple easy shifts to healthier options. She makes it pretty easy too, with a thumbs down list of things to avoid, go green cleaning tips and even a where to shop guide.

Diane also has some pretty smart thoughts like “When buying a new appliance, light or computer to remember:  it has 2 price tags- what you pay to take it home and what you pay for the energy it uses” This book is so handy because she then goes on to list the top 10 ways to save energy and money.

It’s pretty clear that I’m a fan of the book, and that it is totally required reading for every woman, no matter where she is at on the going green scale.

One thing I did miss from the book is more info on eco-travel, a follow-up book is in order perhaps?

 

GIVEAWAY!

Want your own copy of the book? Great, cause I’m giving one away! Leave a comment and your e-mail address. Also if you feel the need to tweet or facebook or like Big green purse on facebook about this contest let me know and you’ll get 2 extra entries!!  (Open to US and Canada residents, over 18 please)

Use your big green purse

Hey, if you don’t win you should still totally pick one up. I mentioned where in my Greenie Deals post.  I love having mine around for reference!  You should also check out her big green purse website which is packed with all kinds of great info! As is the big green purse facebook page.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Tracy, Thanks for the shout out! It’s so important to spread the word that we can make a difference based on how we spend our money. Your blog is doing a great job helping people make the right choices. If we all work together, the world will be a better place.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Donna Romeo on October 14, 2010 at 11:47 am

    Diane

    I heard you speak a few years ago at a sustainability conference in Monterey–you were fantastic and very inspiring. I am very interested in hearing your perspective on the relationship between “being green” and the impacts of the economic downturn on shoppers. Any thoughts to share? Thanks

    Donna M. Romeo, PhD

    Reply

  3. Posted by Rebecca Gilbert on October 14, 2010 at 11:52 am

    Looking forward to checking out this book as I just moved across the country and want to make our new home safe, energy efficient, and pure for our young family.

    Reply

  4. Everything I spend my money on, every thought I make is aimed at leaving this pretty Planet behind
    even more pretty for my two children. I feel obligated.
    I stop, almost daily to pick up thrown bev. bottles off the curbside.
    I try to stay on the green list when I make my purchases. It’s difficult to be perfect, but
    I feel good trying. I have mini convo’s with folks everyday, while I grocery shop or otherwise, what a throw away society we have. I was in a thrift store today. One employee was sorting thru ‘older’ clothes that will be cubed and sent over seas! I told him, that is not the only thing we send over there, we send our computer trash, so much they run out of room and have to burn them (plastic!) we spend so much
    that we have to send our junk to other countries so we dont take up our own land space to get it out of sight. huge thrift stores are the product of our over-consumerism.

    Reply

    • You are right, but we can’t get too down about it, all we can do is make a change and try to encourage others to do the same, you should complete our survey, there is a link at the top right hand side of my blog! We are trying to make it easier for everyone to go green!

      Reply

  5. Sounds like a fantatstic book!

    –Carrie
    carrie at carriewithchildren dot com
    @CarrieWChildren

    Reply

  6. Sounds great! I’m trying to live as green as possible and would love to see what this book has to offer. Thank you! 🙂
    Please feel free to enter my giveaways at http://bebepure.com

    Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  7. Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking you feeds also, Thanks.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Lindsay on October 25, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    Hi Tracy, I’m loving your blog. Sign me up for your Big Green Purse give away, I’d love to read it. I’m all about going green too but find it hard to do any serious research, you’re doing an awesome job.

    lindsayrae5000@hotmail.com

    Reply

  9. Posted by Lindsey on October 25, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    As a member of a family of 5, my primary reason for eco-friendly choices is to save money. This book sounds like a great read.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

