Easy, fast, yummy hot chocolate

Last night I had a little chocolate breakdown.

I had  made a  decision to buy only fair trade chocolate after my Bye Bye Kit Kat post so it really sucked when I broke down last night and in addition to my fair trade Dairy milk bar,  I had a (gasp!) Reece’s Peanut Butter cup….

In my defense my husband bought it.

So to get back on the fair trade wagon I thought I would post my organic/fair trade hot chocolate recipe!

 

Fair trade Hot Chocolate!

 

This recipe makes 4  mugs of hot chocolate (put some in the fridge and heat it up later, mmmm)

You will need:

  • Equal parts boiling water and cocoa (I use Cuisine Camino organic fair trade)About 1/3 cup each.
  • About 4 cups of milk ( I use organic whole milk because I figure more fat=better hot chocolate, but that’s me…)
  • 3/4 cups of white sugar (I haven’t switched to organic yet…)
  • A bit of fair trade chocolate for shaving or grating

Mix the boiling water, cocoa,  sugar and a tiny dash of salt well in a microwave safe container. Add 4 cups of milk and slap that into the microwave for a few minutes, stirring whenever you feel like it.

When it reaches the perfect temperature take it our and mix it even more!

I grate some chocolate on top (that would be the pencil shaving looking stuff) or you could add a cinnamon stick or a tiny splash of vanilla extract.

Enjoy!

*While you’re enjoying your hot chocolate, check out this article:World of Green urges consumers to buy fair trade in celebration of  National Fair Trade Month.

2 responses to this post.

  1. girl get onto the organic sugar !! it’s much cheaper to buy in the bulk aisle plus no packaging to worry about if you bring your canister to the store 🙂 also recommend trying it with silk almond milk – WOW does it taste good :))) also a dash of organic vanilla extract? mmmm!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

