Worth it ? Apples to Apples

I’ve decided to do a little Q & A on Inspire Planning.  I ‘d love for readers to comment on this post! Please leave the name of an eco-friendly  choice in the marketplace and I’ll tell you if it’s WORTH IT or NOT, hopefully every Wednesday. Any thing from bamboo floor to toothpaste!

Ok, so I had a bit of a requests from my fantastic  BFF Kat, here is what she wrote,

Q) “Hey, so I have a question/ inquiry. I love the idea of going green, however, I find that most green products are almost double the price. What is the real reason for this? Are green products really more expensive to manufacture? Sometimes I feel like I’m being taken…….thought it might be a good blog topic.”

A)Good question Kat! I have recently purchased my first bag of organic apples. Apples to Apples it is.

Let’s get something out of the way, Organic simply means that it is grown without pesticides, synthetic fertilizers or  genetically modified organisms.

When I refer to chemicals or pesticide  I am talking about the 2 most popular pesticides where I live (Atlantic Canada) which are Mineral oil and Carbaryl. I went pretty light on them too, there is a ton of scary (questionable sources though) info out there.  A host of other pesticides and fungicides are used, but we can get more into that another day.

Mineral oil is a petroleum based product made from crude oil. That’s one more point for the oil industry and how reliant we are on them.  Let us remember sustainability. Using, processing and transporting crude oil is on the negative scale. On a positive note it’s actually not too bad as  pesticides go, but I still wouldn’t want to eat it! CAUTION: One study showed there was an increase in skin cancer when mineral oil is applied as a moisturizer.Watch out for mineral oils in your cosmetics as well.

The other most popular is carbaryl. This chemical is definitely  toxic to humans. It  affects cell division and growth, as in like mutation. The EPA classifies it as a likely human carcinogenic. Not cool. It seems that bottom feeder fish, such as catfish accumulate the carbaryl in their bodies. Oh and it’s also toxic to bees, who are quite  beneficial to the environment. Being as things do need to be pollinated…

Hmm Organic Apples,

Pros:

  • Some studies have shown they are possibly  more nutritious
  • No harmful chemicals for your body
  • No harmful chemicals in the environment

Cons:

  • About $1 more expensive per 3lbs
  • Could be hard to find (although if you ask they’ll generally get it in)
  • The Organic apples that I buy are shipped from the US, more transport pollution

Hmmm Conventional Apples

Pros:

  • Cheaper
  • More convenient
  • Mostly grown close to home

Cons:

  • Contains a very tiny amounts of  chemicals that hurt our babies.  So a tiny bit from 1 apple, what about if I feed my kids other foods all with just a tiny bit of chemicals? Wouldn’t that add up to a whole bunch? Also it’s not just in the peels, traces of pesticides were found on peeled, cored apples.
  • Contains pesticides that harm the environment

So here is what I am thinking, in the end an extra $1 a week for apples is ok with me! Organic apples are WORTH IT. If there are no organic apples where you live, ask your store manager to get them in, but keep eating conventional apples, their health benefits are too good to pass up!

7 fruits that are WORTH IT, a little extra for organic is ok!

  • Apples
  • Peaches
  • Strawberries
  • Blueberries
  • Nectarines
  • Cherries
  • Grapes

7 fruits NOT to spend extra on for organic:

  • Pineapples
  • Mango
  • Kiwi Fruit
  • Cantaloupe
  • Watermelon
  • Grapefruit
  • Honeydew Melon

A last thought, It seems the toxins are also still present in applesauce and apple juice, if you can, choose those in organic as well.

Info for this article was obtained at http://www.ewg.org/

Links to random Green blog, surprise blog!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dawn on September 29, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Another great post Tracy!
    A little note:
    To limit carbon emissions, try buying locally. You may not find your neighbours organic apples at the Superstore but you may find them at your Neighbourhood Farmers market. Secondly, it’s apple pickin’ season!! So gather up your family and spend your day outside picking apples straight from the tree. I look forward to apple picking every year and I’m sure your kids would love to do it too.
    Also you need to study the rules of organics between Canada and the US. Because it’s labeled organic doesn’t mean it really is. In the US(maybe canada too?), Companies can use 9/10 chemicals and can consider themselves organic. Shocking right!
    So at the end of the day, anyone interested in attempting an organic lifestyle should start buying locally. Would you rather buy something from your town or from another country?
    Remember this is a lifestyle change. So instead of going to the grocery store every Friday, You could leave your veggies and fruit and meat for a Saturday Farmers Market trip.

    Reply

  2. Good point Dawn! The USDA and Quality assurance International symbols will not appear on fruits or veg unless it is 100% organic, if it is between 70-%99% it has to say made with organic ingredients. Those would be the 2 symbols you would see most often. I will address symbols in another post as there are over 400 green symbols to choose from ! While going to a farmers market might work for some lifesyles, realistically some people are just too busy to make it (like me), or it may not be the proper season, that’s why I’m trying to focus mainly on grocery store finds.
    Love the comment, keep them coming!

    Reply

  3. Excellent post. Apples are the one fruit I always buy organic because my kids eat so many. I try to buy mostly organic for other things, but apples I’ll make a special stop at Whole Foods for (thank goodness I can walk there!)

    Stopping by from the Green Blog Hop.

    http://www.metro-dc-mom-blog.com

    Reply

  4. […] out the other Worth it? Apples to Apples and I can’t get these diapers out of my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

