Steam mop

With all my shifting of funds to more eco friendly products, I’m always thinking of ways to save money. I have been looking at steam mops for a while now, as my current product I use is a Swiffer. Swiffer creates so much  waste with it’s one time use mop heads.

Then there’s the actual cleaning sloution they put on the mop cloths. I reviewed the material safety data sheet and it actually looks to be  on the lower end of the hazard spectrum, but it’s still not biodegradable and does irritate the skin. Since my baby crawls on my floors and eats any scrap of food or non food that he comes across , maybe it’s time for a healthier option.

I pay $94.44 per year for Swiffer wet cloths refills.   Vinegar and water is one cheap option, but really I don’t want my house to smell like vinegar or take the time to get out a mop or sponge  and bucket. For around $100 I can get a steam mop with pads that are washable and resuable.
I know that steam mops have their own downfalls, such as power consumption. The power rating for Bissel Steam Mop is  1500 watts (to give an idea my small 4 cup coffee maker uses 710 watts). Plus this model only  weighs 9 lbs,  and I’ll be cleaning with cups of water instead of  gallons! I’ll give my swiffer to my kids with a facecloth on the bottom, and bonus for them they have a new toy!

Oh and P.S. You can buy this mop on Amazon for $99 with free shipping to Canada, or directly from the Bissell site if your in the U.S. for $79.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dawn on September 8, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Hey Tracy: The steamer is awesome. My friend (who is a cleaning freak) bought one and you really have no idea how dirty your floors really are until you use a steamer! AMAZING!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kim on September 9, 2010 at 7:46 am

    I’ve been wanting one for a looooong time, but no one can seem to tell me if they are safe for use on laminate…even retailers have no idea…
    Tracy they must be, right?

    Reply

    • From what I have researched, it’s still kind of blurry. It seems that they are ok on click laminate, but possibly not laminate that uses glue. If your laminate stated that it is waterproof or water resistant, you should be ok but may experience some streaking. A few people have said that their laminate warped, when they left the mop sitting on it, maybe don’t do it then?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

