Organic make-up (Part 1, Mascara)

Alright, so anyone that knows me should know that I LOVE MAKE-UP! I do not however own any organic make-up. All the crap that I have, for example my Covergirl mascara which is my favorite, and I use it on a daily basis is not organic. I looked it up on Cosmetics database, ahem, here’s what it had to say

“Ingredients in this product are linked to:
Cancer
Developmental/reproductive toxicity
Restrictions & warnings
Allergies/immunotoxicity
Other concerns for ingredients used in this product:
Neurotoxicity, Endocrine disruption, Persistence and bioaccumulation, Organ system toxicity (non-reproductive), Multiple, additive exposure sources, Irritation (skin, eyes, or lungs), Enhanced skin absorption, Contamination concerns, Occupational hazards, Biochemical or cellular level changes”

Cover girl Lash Blast Mascara got a 7/10 on their hazard score (10 being the worst).

The new mascara I decided to buy was Physicians Formula Organic wear mascara. I am familiar with Physicians Formula and have used and loved their make-up in the past.

The mascara itself is fantastic, I’ve been wearing it for a few days now. It has even been withstanding temperature of 39 degrees celsius with the humidity! More than I can say for many conventional mascaras.

Unfortunately Cosmetics database did not have this mascara listed. I was still able to do a PRELIMINARY REPORT (enter in the ingredients) which gave the mascara 2 out of 10. That score could still possibly go up or down slightly but it’s not 7/10!

The mascara was a little more than I’d like to pay $15.50, but I figure I’ll be saving that by compulsively shutting off lights and electrical devices in my home over the next few months!

My friend recently refered me to this site The story of Stuff. You need to check out this short animated video. It gives a little bit more of an idea of why buying organic make-up is important.

Remember to write to your favorite Mascara Manufacturer and urge them to change their ways!! If enough consumers want it, and they are losing sales to organic make-up, they WILL MAKE IT!

P.S.  Happy 5th Anniversary to me and my husband!!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Pat on September 4, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    This is very informative, well written and witty. Congrats on the research and happy anniversary.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

