Laundry & Organic

So today was shopping day.

After a tip from a friend I found a bin of Sunlight Green Clean detergent on sale for $2.99 a bottle!

The bottle is small so they are on the right track as far as packaging goes. Then I decided to further investigate the “green” and “includes plant based ingredients” claim. There are 6 ingredients that I can’t pronounce and the only natural thing on that list is coconut oil!

For example Triethanolamine. An article on Science Direct states “Monoethanolamine (MEA), diethanolamine (DEA) and triethanolamine (TEA) are compounds with potential acute, sub-chronic and chronic toxicity effects towards aquatic species.”

It is biodegradable in 28 days though?

At least it  encourages folks to clean with cold water.

All in all a step in the right direction but better luck next time for an even greener laundry detergent…maybe Method?  They have ingredients that are all safe!

Also on my list this week was to switch something over to organic, I went for applesauce, pretty straight forward, tastes the same as applesauce at a cost of $2 for 6 packs for lunches. I was surprised that I wasn’t able to find a large container of organic applesauce so that I could re-use my own small containers…

The last thing on my list for this week was Tupperware, as I let my husband know, I’m not buying anymore plastic bags!  According to many online resources about  500 billion plastic bags are used worldwide every year. Then those 500 billion bags (not only sandwich but all bags) take about 300
years to photodegrade.

If you’re not a huge fan of Tupperware ( mine is plastic #5 which can be recycled curb side in P.E.I.) then another alternative is re-usable sandwich bags. They have tones of them at Etsy.  Yet another super cool product is the Goodbyn Lunchbox for kids (I purchased mine from babygrins.ca).  Although super cool and eco-friendly this lunch box is a little large and I’m saving mine until A is in grade 2, since this year it doesn’t really fit into his backpack….

Totals for this week/ second week of  O.I.M.C.

  • $15 Tupperware
  • $2 organic applesauce
  • $3 for a “greener” laundry detergent

=

6 responses to this post.

  1. K, so President’s choice DOES have the large jars of organic applesauce. I buy it all the time. It is actually the first food Isla ate. Ate we all love it on toast!

    Reply

  2. Ate = And, in case you didn’t know 😉

    Reply

  3. Posted by Charleen on September 8, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    Hey,
    Alison sent me your site. Just wanted to let you in on a couple of recipes/products that I use.
    I’m pretty sure you can get this stuff on PEI:
    http://www.bebbingtonindustries.com/down_east.html

    In Halifax there are a few stores that sell it and let you refill your bottles which is fantastic. I’ve been using it for a couple of years now and love that it’s all scent free. The dish soap doesn’t get as sudsy as normal soap but it’s supposed to be that way. I was talking to a nurse a few weeks ago and she told me it was developed by Capital Health to use in hospitals because they couldn’t find anything that met their sanitizing/environmental needs (don’t know if that’s 100% accurate though).

    Recently I’ve started making my own laundry soap. It smells delicious and lasts quite a while as you only need a little bit per load. This recipe lasts about 50 loads.
    8 cups borax
    6 cups baking soda
    1 cup grated lemon soap

    In one of your posts you mentioned using water and vinegar to clean and not liking the smell, you can add a few drops of any essential oil to the mixture to cut the smell. I usually put tea tree oil in mine but I know there are some that are less toxic when ingested.

    Take care,
    Charleen

    Reply

  4. […] Posted October 13, 2010 by inspireplanning in eco friendly, eco-freindly on a budget, environment, global warming, green living, green on a budget, greener canada, how to, inspire, laundry, recipe. Tagged: cleaner, eco canada, eco laundry detergent, eco-friendly, global warming, green, green in canada, green laundry detergent, green on a budget, pollution, sunlight green clean. Leave a Comment What’s so bad about laundry detergents anyway? Why bother buying a green detergent? […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

